Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dyson DC50 Multi Floor

Average Customer Rating:
4.247 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1383 Reviews) 992
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,383 reviews)
5 stars
761
4 stars
403
3 stars
94
2 stars
50
1 star
75
1,163 of 1,383(84%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DC50 Multi Floor
Review 1 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Outstanding
(May 6, 2014)
Resisted the Dyson wagon. How wrong I was! Brilliant!!! Absolutely fantastic worth every single penny!!
I cleaned the house and I needed to empty 3 times! Our previous non dyson carpet cleaner was inferior to this magnificent machine!
Perfect in size does everything you need small and agile.
Job well done Dyson, if you are reading this and debating if to buy a Dyson, just do it, well worth it!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Brilliant
(April 2, 2014)
After 7 years my old dyson gave up so rather than repair I went for a new dc50 as my old dyson never let me down and this is why I remained with dyson.
The dc50 is compact easy to use and has fantastic pick well impressed and hopefully this one will last just as long
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"Excellent results"
(June 30, 2016)
I love this vacuum. It is compact and lightweight with a long cord, the ball makes manoeuvring very easy and the self adjusting head is excellent. The 5 year guarantee is a bonus too. My floors have never been so clean! I highly recommend this product.
Review 4 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
poor suction, poor design.
(February 21, 2016)
bought this as a replacement for a 9yr old DC07. Right from the start i didn't think much to its suction ability , on hard floors it pushes large pieces of fluff because the head is too close to the floor and not adjustable , ok on carpets, the carbon fibre brushes wore out very quickly leaving just the nylon brushes, suction from the pipe is poor and badly designed for staircase use as the handle is not cranked , the filters clog up too quickly then require washing and drying for 24 hours.the motor has now developed a high pitched howl this morning and siezed up !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Review 5 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Okay if you like emptying vacuum cleaners
(February 4, 2016)
We had a DC04 for a long time and, once it started falling apart, we thought another Dyson would be the way to go. Unfortunately, a lot had changed with Dysons and not all for the better. The DC50 has a woefully small dust container and its emptying system invariably does not work properly. I've lost count of the number of times that I have had to employ a wooden skewer to reach up inside the dust container to scrape out lumps of dust that just don't 'fall out' as the design engineers obviously thought they would. After the DC04 I also find the hose very short too. All in all, I find the vacuum is good to look at and very compact, but if I could have had my money back at the time I would have bought something else.
Response from Dyson:By AskDysonOwner SupportFebruary 18, 2016
Hi,

Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear about the trouble.

The DC50 is indeed a smaller size machine than the DC04 and the bin size and hose length are built in proportion to the size of the motor.

What I would suggest is to use the machine until the dirt reaches the Max line drawn on the bin. This way you can avoid any unnecessary dislodging of dirt stuck in the upper part of it. Even so, if you open the lid underneath the red plastic circuit that pushes it down you will discover a silver button which if pressed will unlock the cyclone from the clear plastic container. You will then be able to use the Combination tool for example to give the mesh inside a quick clean. This would be more than enough in terms of maintenance.

In regards to the hose I want to mention there is an extension for it available here:
http://www.dyson.co.uk/vacuum-cleaners/accessories/home-cleaning/extendable-hose.aspx

I hope this answers your concerns.

Kind regards,
Victor


Review 6 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
very good
(December 23, 2015)
extension hose is not very good but other then that I find the vacuum cleaner very very good, better by far then any other vacuum cleaner I have ever owned
Review 7 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
(October 6, 2015)
Having owned several disowns very disappointed in this one clogs up very easily had to have new head, and little sealing ring replaced and machine not a year old yet, forever having to take it apart to unclog and that is a real fiddly job.
Review 8 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Dyson DC50 multi floor
(August 21, 2015)
Been very pleased with my new Dyson so far. However, on it's first clean of the house had to empty the bin 6 times... my old Dyson only required emptying after each clean. But my hard floors and carpets are like new and I do like how it's condensed and can fit under a utility cabinet. It seems I will need to clean the filters more often too.
Review 9 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Love love love
(August 16, 2015)
Simply the best vacuum cleaner we have ever owned.
Review 10 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
DC50 first use
(May 22, 2015)
Coming from an old pull along vacuum, I was blown away. I vacuumed up the lounge carpet and was shocked at just how much dirt it sucked up, in fact I'd say I was embarrassed. It's nice to know the house is cleaner with our 1 year old tearing around and causing most of the mess!
Great vacuum cleaner but expensive. Only time will tell if we get what we paid for!
Review 11 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
DC50
(May 9, 2015)
Surprised at how small and light it is, however is has a lot of power and does a great job. Would say it could do with a slightly longer flex.
Overall, so far I am impressed with it, just hope it lasts as long as my last on, approx 12 years.
Review 12 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
DC50
(April 6, 2015)
I purchased the Dyson several months ago and although the vacuum is a great little machine the hose and attachments are useless. They are difficult to use and the hose does not bend very easily to get into corners etc. So would not recommend this vacuum if you want to use the tools.
Review 13 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
an excellent machine
(March 29, 2015)
This machine has an excellent performance it sucks up the dirt and refreshes the carpet pile.
You get what you pay for with Dyson
Review 14 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great replacement for DC25
(March 26, 2015)
Having had a DC 25 for many years we decided to buy the model as a replacement. This model seems more efficient and very much quieter and the extra long mains lead makes it much easier to use. Completely satisfied with this latest acquisition ! Thank you.
Review 15 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Perfect Cleaning
(March 23, 2015)
The carpets looked instantly cleaner after using the dc50 mutli floor, it didn't lose suction as the bin filled up and it really did show what my old vacuum had missed. it is light weight and easy to maneuver even doing sharp corners with out struggling to get the vacuum to turn it simply just glides. i am impressed how it automatically changes from carpet to hard flooring with out having to do anything to the vacuum itself. makes vacuuming so much easier.
Review 16 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Not the Dyson quality I've know before
(March 21, 2015)
This Dyson DC50 Multi Floor unfortunately is not as good a quality as my previous Dyson's. I find the build quality not that good, everything about it seems flimsy and I'm very scared things will just snap off. I've used it for 7 months and after only 4 months the black line of brushes on the rotating head have completely worn away. Another constant annoyance is that you have to really push and click the cleaner into the standing position otherwise it just falls over!!! I don't find the suction on this model anywhere near as good as the older DC04 type models...The tool attachments are not very good, too big to get into any small places and don't like the fact to save money and space have 2 tools in 1....the sliding larger tool keeps sliding up when using the smaller tool...very annoying. I wouldn't buy this model again, i wanted to return it only after a few weeks but the large high street store i purchased from said i had to contact Dyson for any returns. ...On a plus note...i do like the look of the model and being smaller in size allows for easy storage...ideal if you only have limited storage space....I'm sure other makes of cleaners are just the same with annoying parts to them...I'm just very disappointed as my old Dyson was so very far in superiority to this one and feel the quality of the Dyson name is just not there anymore if this model is anything to go by...these are not cheap cleaners so I expect much higher quality for my hundreds of pounds paid.
Review 17 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
great machine
(March 21, 2015)
having only used the vacuum once up to now we were very pieased with the performance and it certainly puts all others in the shade
Review 18 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Good vacuum but not perfect
(March 21, 2015)
Bought this to replace my previous cylinder dyson which I loved. The vacuum partner this upright is great. Have both wood floors and carpets and this is perfect. BUT... the hose attachment is awful! It is too small, does not fit back into the handle easily and there is no suction. I would recommend this to someone who would not need to use the hose attachment but otherwise stay away! Have just bought another dyson model with a longer hose which has good reviews and will hopefully be better. This is going upstairs where I just need a vacuum.
Review 19 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
No Suction
(March 16, 2015)
Ever since purchase, its hardly had any suction. I clean the filters but doesn't stop it from constantly being clogged up, while I am actually using it
Response from Dyson:By AskDysonDyson Owner SupportMarch 17, 2015
Hi there, it's Craig from Dyson.

I am sorry to hear you are experiencing an issue with your machine. I would advise you to call our Helpline on 0800 298 0298 to discuss this further with them.
Review 20 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Dc50
(March 16, 2015)
My mum had a big dyson I went to buy one and was advised this was better it wasn't it keeps getting blocked all the time I have to keep taking it to bits
Response from Dyson:By AskDysonDyson Owner SupportMarch 17, 2015
Hi there' it's Craig from Dyson.

DC50 is the lightest and most compact upright in our range so may not be suitable for all customers. For larger homes we have the fullsize DC41 Mk2 or the mid-size DC40.

Unfortunately it sounds as if you may not have selected the correct Dyson vacuum for your particular needs. We're keen for you to get the best out of your experience and if you would like to discuss your concerns with us directly you can reach us by calling 0800 298 0298.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 50 next>>